Streaming:
Now Playing:

Home » All Posts » First Born and Other Classic Soundtracks I Can’t Live Without
First Born and Other Classic Soundtracks I Can’t Live Without

First Born and Other Classic Soundtracks I Can’t Live Without

On Wednesday, April 9th, Friday, April 11th and Sunday, April 13th, Movies Broadway Singers and Beyond will salute Hans Zimmer’s soundtrack to the production of First Born, as well as many other magnificent  soundtracks.  I will play some Max Steiner, Alex North, Alfred Newman, Elmer Bernstein and many, many more.

In response to a recent list of all-time best composers, people were debating on who was the best, and naturally everyone had a different opinion.  Hans Zimmer had special attention focused on him for several reasons.

But, I want to tell you a little story.  In the late 1980’s, the BBC presented a wonderful mini-series called First Born starring Charles Dance.  The premise of this story was that there was a scientific experiment to mate a female gorilla with male human sperm, a hybrid so to speak.  The “powers that be” decided this was not a good idea, but this was after the experiment had already taken place.  Since the male scientist used his sperm and a creature was born, there was no way the male scientist was going to destroy . . . his creation.  What happens to this creature named Gor is the story of First Born, and it was wonderful.  I never forgot it.

The spectacular music for First Born was composed by Hans Zimmer.  The story and the music was so powerful that I could never get it out of my mind.  In the years that followed, I searched high and low for the music.  With Hans Zimmer’s success, there is a lot of music that he has created like The Dark Knight and Inception, but First Born was impossible to find.  Undaunted, I finally located a tape in England and I was thrilled beyond belief. Immediately, I uploaded this music onto my music system.

In my first show, Movies Broadway Singers and Beyond Pays Tribute To (some of) My Favorites, First Born was right at the top.  So for all of you who would like to hear this unique piece, as well as other beautiful soundtracks, tune in.

Wednesday, April 9th: 3pm Eastern / 12pm Pacific / 7pm GMT

Friday, April 11th:  9pm Eastern / 6pm Pacific / (Sat April 12th) 1am GMT

Sunday, April 13th: 11am Eastern / 8am Pacific / 3pm GMT

To all my friends out there, if you tune in late, this is what I am going to do for you.  I will play First Born at the beginning of this 2 hour show and also at the end.  Coming and going.  I hope you get to hear it.  Let me know what you think.   And to the BBC, I hope you re-release the mini-series world-wide so that everyone can get to see it.  It is as timely today as it was more than 20 years ago.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

')